The Lasting Kind

This week I make a happy return to Madison Woods’s ‘Friday Fictioneers’.  Having been short on time and mental energy recently, it feels good to be back.  I wrote this one pretty much entirely in my head while washing up.  That’s usually a good indicator for a story I can enjoy and be happy with.  Here’s the photo prompt which set it off:

Madison’s site hosts the original image along with her story.  Other authors’ stories will be linked in the comments section there.  Here’s the link to follow:

http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/flash-fiction/contemplation-a-poem/

I hope you enjoy the story and, as ever, I’m always keen to hear what readers make of all this, so please feel free to leave a comment.  Thanks for taking the time to stop by 🙂

‘The Lasting Kind’

In the final days of the Hierophant, my people disappeared from this world. I alone remain; how and why, I do not know.  Such knowledge is kept by a corpulent ruler of men.  His perfidy invigorates me.  Guides me.

Dawn approaches and my every step through this forest is shadowed by a preternatural silence.  The denizens of the wood know who walks among them.  Just as my footfalls scorch the very earth, nascent light steals my eyes and sears my skin.  I sink into the frigid depths of the river and wait.  Tonight I will become blackest vengeance, stalking the corridors of his palace.  His shrieking doomsong will be my people’s lament.

22 comments on “The Lasting Kind

  1. John Hardy Bell says:

    ‘Tonight I will become blackest vengeance’. Fantastic line!

    Wonderfully written piece. My only hope is that this ‘piece’ is part of a much larger story. If it isn’t, it certainly should be!

    Mine: http://jhardyb.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/100-word-friday-fictioneers-11/

  2. Sandra says:

    Someone’s really going to get his tonight. A lovely menacing piece with a sense of something savage to come. Nice one.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/reaching-a-conclusion-friday-fictioneers-april-2012/

  3. Gary says:

    An incredible piece once again, full of great language (again) and the tale is one that I would also love to know more of.
    The character feels like he/she has a rich history, though obviously one of sadness being the last of his/her kind. I also love the idea of the fiery skin and the blackening after sinking into the water – the vengeance the character seeks feels at once justified and yet dark and evil, again speaking out for seeing more!

    Top marks, Andy. Top marks.

    http://garybaileywriting.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/fridayfictioneers-catfishing/

  4. Andy, I Love your story–I want M.O.R.E!! The gooseflesh is still clinging to me. Very well done.

    Mine: http://www.vlgregory-circa1800.vpweb.com/blog.html

  5. I love how you illustrated the need for and planned implementation of revenge. I, too, would love to see what happens next. Who is this and why were they spared – obviously because he/she had yet to fulfill a destined purpose.

    ~Susan (Here’s mine: http://www.susanwenzel.com/)

  6. miq says:

    This is a fantastic piece. I love how you could feel the anger boiling under the surface and also feel it rising to a cataclysmic level. Well done.

    Mine is here: http://threedescriptors.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/flash-fiction-20-cold-night/

  7. Brandon Scott says:

    Great story. I could definitely see this blooming into something more.

    My attempt: http://authorbrandonscott.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/gone/

  8. unspywriter says:

    The definition of foreboding. I know I’m glad I’m not the one he’s after. Wonderful and creepy, the way I like my flash fiction.

    Thanks for the “samurai/poet” comment. I blush in humility. –Maggie

  9. writelindy says:

    Will I even sleep tonight? Great atmospheric piece.

  10. tedstrutz says:

    I’m impressed, Wordsmith… I need say no more.

    http://tedstrutz.com/2012/04/04/844/

  11. Lora Mitchell says:

    Delightful. Suspenseful. Here he is…the lone survivor, knowing it’s his duty to seek revenge and his destiny to take vengeance. On whom? Why? As much as I don’t care for creepy, gory stories (and there are many this week), this one begs to know more. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  12. Quill Shiv says:

    This is such an ominous piece. I love the lone and word choice!

    https://quillshiv.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/meet-me/

  13. Something about a word coming to my mind and finding it on Lora’s comment today? Delightful!! I love words and enjoyed your use of them…a few anew to me and i loved to have learned them on here, thanks!
    https://seewilliams.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/f-is-for-flash-fiction/

  14. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Andy,

    Weaving a tale of menace, lament, and revenge out of whole cloth is not an easy thing to do, yet you managed it perfectly. Each sentence carried the weight of your protagonist’s fiery footfalls evenly and steadfastly forward to the foreordained conclusion. “I sink into the frigid depths of the river and wait.” This sentence is my favorite one out of them all because it ties together all the others in your masterful use of the prompt. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  15. janmorrill says:

    A dark and menacing tale and a fantastic last line. Welcome back!

  16. Beautiful rich language yet a clear enough storyline that one doesn’t need to run to dictionary to enjoy the plot. Very well done!

    http://www.wakefieldmahon.com/1/post/2012/04/down-by-the-river-friday-fictioneers1.html

  17. Russell says:

    Andy,
    I really enjoyed this piece, and learned several new words at the same time 🙂
    Nicely done.

  18. Your choice of words is amazing. And the understated emotion in the character’s cold objectivity makes this substle but powerful writing.

  19. Great use of language. Poetic and frightening at the same time. Great job!

  20. erinleary says:

    This is an evil that uses some great vocabulary. I like the idea of him waiting in the river, biding his time, gathering his rage. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Definitely a very dark and creepy feel to this piece. I have to agree with liking the term “blackest vengeance”. It sets the tale off with real menace. Well done return and look forward to seeing more of your stuff.

  22. Madison Woods says:

    Oh I liked the foreboding vigilante this character seems to be. Great job, and glad to have you back on the rolls!

Leave a Reply

